The Board, Advisory Council, and Corporation

About the Friends of the Planetarium

Founded in 2010 to save the Planetarium from being closed, Friends of Arlington's David M. Brown Planetarium is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that continues to raise funds to make the Planetarium even better, and to support Arlington Public Schools in providing enhanced science education in Arlington County. The Friends of Arlington’s David M. Brown Planetarium has an all-volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Council.

The Corporation

The Friends of Arlington's Planetarium was incorporated by the Commonwealth of Virginia, State Corporation Commission, on May 10, 2010. Here are our Articles of Incorporation and current Bylaws. On June 2, 2010, the IRS assigned the following Employer Identification Number to the Friends: 27-2760025.

The Friends submitted an application to the IRS for Recognition of Exemption under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, Form 1023, on July 21, 2010. The IRS recognized the Friends as a tax exempt public charity on August 18, 2010. Here is the letter of determination.

Board of Directors

Members of the Board of Directors have the honor and responsibility of overseeing and representing the interests of all the Friends of Planetarium consistent with our mission of supporting the renovation and continued use of Arlington’s Planetarium in (a) providing curriculum-based instruction and educational services to students in the Arlington Public Schools, to students in private and parochial schools in Arlington, and to students in neighboring jurisdictions; (b) providing a range of science-related programs of interest to the general public; and (c) promoting and increasing awareness and utilization of the facility.

Theresa Schweser, Acting President
James Gartner, Vice President
Tom Wanat, Secretary
Maryclare Whitehead, Treasurer
Wendy Benvenga
Steve Cordle
Peggy Disney
Kate Hughes
Ashley Jacoby
Laura Karl
Carolyn Lange
Alexandra Lersten, Student Representative
Joseph Migliaccio
Alice Monet
Kathi Overton
Raphael Perrino
Lee Phillips

An old picture of a previous composition of the BOD.

Advisory Council

Members of the Advisory Council review the programs and the effectiveness of the planetarium, advise the Board of Directors of issues, needs and opportunities, and provide expert advice to Arlington Public Schools as needed.

Ray Anderson
Jennifer Bartlett
John Bartlett
Dan Caroll
Preston Caruthers 
Paul Derby 
Maria Dittrich
Alex Gartner
Harold Geller
Dean Howarth
Alexis Joyce
Amy Kaminski 
Brig Pari
Ralph Perrino
William Readdy 
Jessica Rosenberg 
George Wysor